Holly cole trio - don't smoke in bed

Holly Cole brings her own dimension to the tradition of cabaret, a strong voice that’s still capable of nuance, an ear for quirky repertoire, and a light touch that keeps some of these performances floating just at the edge of irony. Her delivery of more traditional fare shines on Cole Porter ‘s witty “Get Out of Town” and Kurt Weill ‘s torchy “Je Ne T’aime Pas,” while she brings clarity, power, and anthemic passion to the surprising treatment of Johnny Nash ‘s “I Can See Clearly Now.” Some of her inspirations are less successful, such as aiming for jazz depth on the lightweight pop of “Que Sera Sera,” but Cole is never less than interesting. She’s generally well supported in this intimate art by pianist Aaron Davis and bassist Davd Piltch, while there’s sparing and effective use of strings. There are fine guest spots by tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson , on “Everyday Will Be Like a Holiday,” and David Lindley , whose steel guitar contributes to the strange country music of “Don’t Let the Teardrops Rust Your Shining Heart.” –Adam Rains

B1 Blame It On My Youth
B2 Ev'rything I've Got
B3 Je Me T'aime Pas
B4 Cry (If You Want To)
B5 Que Sera Sera
B6 Don't Smoke In Bed

Holly Cole Trio - Don't Smoke In BedHolly Cole Trio - Don't Smoke In BedHolly Cole Trio - Don't Smoke In BedHolly Cole Trio - Don't Smoke In Bed